Foodie Friday – Spicy Chickpea Burgers

I’ve always been a fan of chickpea burgers, from my first foray in to vegetarianism when I was at college to the present day. However, over the years I have found that recipes can be a little hit and miss. It’s a challenge to get the right balance of flavours and as importantly, the right texture; nothing too wet and definitely nothing too dry. So I’ve played around with many recipes and this is the best I have found so far. In fact, they are pretty delicious. Don’t take my word for it, my partner also loves them (meat eater!). It’s a pretty easy recipe, so why not give it a go?

Spicy Chickpea Burgers – makes 4 generous sized patties or 6-8 smaller ones, preparation 15 mins, cooking time 8-16 mins depending on the size of the patties

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small courgette, grated
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 garlic clove, finely diced
  • 2 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp fresh coriander, roughly chopped (used dried if you can’t get fresh)
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp hot pepper sauce (tabasco, sriracha, etc.)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tbsp olive oil (I suggest adding one tbsp at a time, and only add the second if required)
  • Salt & pepper

Method:

In a mixing bowl, crush the chickpeas (either with a fork or potato masher). You don’t want them too fine, keep a chunky texture, but make sure they are all broken down.

Then simply add all the other ingredients to the chickpeas and mix. As I mentioned in the ingredients list, add the oil 1 tbsp at a time, to make sure they don’t go too wet.

I like my burgers big, so I make four generous size patties.


Voila! That’s as hard as it gets.

Cook in a frying pan with a dash of oil for 4-8 mins each side on a medium heat (you don’t want to burn them before they cook!). If you made just four patties they will be quite large and need longer cooking time, probably closer to the 8 mins each side. Smaller patties (six to eight from this mix) will only take 4 or 5 mins each side.

Load them up as you like. I like to serve on a toasted wholemeal bun or ciabatta with sliced fresh tomato, cucumber, onion and a dash of mayonnaise. Delicious.

I challenge any vegetarian or hardened meat eater not to love these little babies.

Let me know how you get on, and whether you make any tweaks to the recipe to suit your personal taste. I’m always up for improvement. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

